I wrote a new review paper for the Yearbook of Physical Anthropology. It summarizes some the recent insights from the genomes of archaic humans (e.g., Neanderthals, Denisovans, etc.) within an anthropological framework. Specifically, I tried to answer the following questions:

  • How have genomic data from archaic hominins changed our view of human evolution?
  • Is there any doubt about whether introgression from ancient hominins to the ancestors of present‐day humans occurred?
  • What is the current view of human evolutionary history from the genomics perspective?
  • What is the impact of introgression on human phenotypes?


2 responses to “New review: Archaic hominin introgression into modern human genomes”

  1. John Filson Avatar
    John Filson

    Love to read, but paywalled to me. Abstract is intriguing.

  2. Anatolian Shepherd Avatar
    Anatolian Shepherd

    Thanks – I know. The stupid paywall is a giant bummer. If you send an email to me, I will be happy to send a pdf to you.

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.